Home > Uncategorized > Ethics of Smoking in Restaurants

Ethics of Smoking in Restaurants

Restaurants prepped for smoke-free

The article linked above talks about how North Carolina states are starting to receive kits to get ready for the no smoking law for bars and restaurants. This law is going to be enforced on January 2nd. State lawmakers say expensive evidence indicates secondhand smoke is dangerous to nonsmokers, and is a public health hazard. The new law says secondhand smoke has been proven to cause cancer, heart disease, and asthma attacks in both smokers and nonsmokers. The article then goes on to state that the county Health Department sent letters dated Oct. 32 to 265 restaurants, bars and lodging establishments informing them of the laws restrictions: any establishment the Health Department inspects for sanitation an any bar that is a state permit authorizing to sell alcohol cannot allow smoking inside. The article then goes on to quote some effected customers, owners, and managers of these establishments.
I think that it should be up to the restaurants whether or not smoking should be permitted inside. Yes, it is hazardous to the health of smokers and nonsmokers but it us up to the people affected by the smoke to choose whether or not to go to restaurants that permit smoking. It is no secret that smoking and second hand smoke causes cancer, heart disease, and asthma attacks so I think people should be given the choice to expose their selves or not. Each restaurant should post some kind of notification about whether or not they allow smoking inside. Then the customers, employees etc. can decide to participate in the establishments offerings. I think it is unethical on the government’s part to enforce any law taking away from people’s rights even if it is for the greater good. I am not a smoker and I am against people voluntarily slowly killing their selves but that is just me. People who choose to do this have the right to this choice and I think that by taking the rights away from restaurants is the same as thanking that right to choose for individuals. Customer perception should be left to the company if a company wants to let their consumers know that they permit smoking than that perception is their choice to put off not the governments.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. lindz617
    November 30, 2009 at 10:53 am

    If your that addicted to smoking that you cant take a break from smoking for 30minutes to dine in a nice resturant then you have a problem. I am a non smoker who used to smoke, I know what the cravings are and let me tell you, you can wait a half hour at least to smoke. I like the idea of resturants and bars going smoke free. I dont feel I should have to choose a resutarant I want to eat at beacuse of the smoking preference, what if the resturant I really enjoy allows smokers to smoke? how is that fair that I cant go to my favorite resturant becasue they allow smoking and now i am harmed by second hand smoke. overall smoking is harmful no matter where or when you do it so just stop, and stop harming others.

  2. jthomason16
    December 1, 2009 at 1:25 am

    I believe that restaurant and other public places should be smoke free. I believe that outside of dining establishments there should be a designated smoking area. People come to restaurants to enjoy a nice meal. And if your not a smoker then cigarette smoke is very irritating to deal with when all you want is a nice relaxing meal.

  3. juliafuellenbach
    December 1, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    I more or less agree with all of the opinions as it’s very difficult to say what is right or wrong. However the decision is made, there will always be people being restricted by the law. If you allow smoking, then non-smokers can’t choose every restaurant they want, unless they don’t care if people at the next table smoke. If you prohibit smoking, then smokers feel restricted in their choice to smoke whenever they want.
    In Germany we already have the law that prohibits smoking in public buildings, clubs, bars and restaurants. First, I found it ridiculous, because I thought that cigarette smoke is “part of” going out. But after my first night in a club, when I came home and my clothes were not smelling of cigarettes, I really began to appreciate it…
    And we should also think of pregnant women and kids who also want to have dinner together in a restaurant. They should be able to choose their favorite restaurant. Smokers can just as well smoke in front of the door.

  4. icgreen
    December 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I am a smoker and I feel the same way as a lot of the other comments posted. I am the type of person that doesn’t like to smell smoke or be around smoke while I’m enjoying my meal. Restaurants are the main places where I would rather not smell smoke while eating. I have to agree to disagree though, because smokers pay their money like everyone else and they deserve to eat and smoke when they please whenever they are paying their hard earned money to a restaurant to increase their sales. I like to go to restaurants that have smoking and non-smoking sections that way while I’m eating, I don’t have to be around the smoke. I can be seated on another side of the restaurant.

  5. riderash
    December 1, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    I am from New York and smoking has not been allowed there in restaurants and bars for several years. I think this is a great law because i cannot stand the smell of smoke. The whole concept of smoking non smoking is so dumb becasue obviously the smoke travels and the entire place smells. yes it is every persons right to smoke or not but i also think it is a persons right to eat and not have to inhail smoke that is dangerous to a persons health.

  6. ansmith2
    December 4, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    I agree with the blogger… If a resturant is privatly owned the should have the right to choose whether or not they want to permit smoking. The govt takes in account for a few people who complain about an issue, (if the lobbist money is anti against said issue).. then withdraw the rights of those who choose to take part in an activity… to continue the funding form said complainers. It violates the rights of some to benefit others… it is unethical for politics to center their decisions around who is going to elected them next term… how about they make bills that the public needs not wants.. and how about they stop infinging on our rights… we are becoming a communist country slowly but surely…

    ansmith2

  7. okazako1
    December 4, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    I think it would be a great idea. Personally, I dont go to the bars and restaurants if there is no non-smoking section. And I am sure that I am not the only one who eliminates some bars and restaurants due to the same reason. On the other hand, from the point of view of the businesses, it is not a good move. Many people will come to the bar to relax. They have a drink, talk, and then if they are smokers they will want to smoke. For heavy smokers I think it will become an issue for them, if the bar will not allow to smoke inside.

  8. mauiwowie1
    December 4, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    i also agree with this idea. i myself hate the smell of smoke when i walk into a restaurant or while i’m eating even when they have divided sections because the smoke drifts over to the non-smoking side. it’s hazardous to people’s health. i think all resaurants should be non-smoking.

  9. twinpate
    December 7, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I think smoking in restaurants should be left up to the owner of the restaurant themselves. The restaurant business has always been allowed to refuse service to anyone and this should be that type of situation. If you prefer to have a smoke free environment then go ahead, but if not their shouldn’t be any forced rules on restaurateurs.

  10. bnjoe
    December 8, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    I agree with banning smoking in some restaurants, but I think smoking should be allowed in some bars and pool halls. Fancy restaurants should not allow smoking, who wants to go sit in a five star restaurant in a gown and come out smelling of smoke. Not fair, I am not a smoker but I do not knock anyone that smokes, but there are certain places where smoking should be allowed and a five star restaurant is not the place.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

