Home > Uncategorized > TGI- Thursday

TGI- Thursday

No More Friday Work Days

 This article presents an interesting idea about getting rid of Friday work days and having a four day work week. This means a two hour longer work day but a three day weekend in return. Sounds like a good idea to me. Not to mention the money that it saves not only the company but the workers. Everyone wins from the new way of working. Employees aren’t getting laid off because the company is saving money from shutting down machines and power sources for an extra day. There also getting to spend more leisure time with family and friends doing things they enjoy. At the same time they are saving money not having to drive to work that day.

I dont know about everyone else, but i wouldn’t mind working two extra hours to have friday off. My question is when is South Carolina going to get on board with this idea?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. rbrow123
    September 11, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I also like the idea of a four day work week, especially considering all of the positive economic impacts, improved worker morale, and the environmental benefits. It would not be too hard to just work 2 more hours in a day, and it would leave a full day free to relax or spend time with family. I think this would especially be good for working parents with young kids at home, as they could spend more quality time with them. As far as this idea coming to South Carolina, I wouldn’t expect anything soon, as there are a lot of other distractions going on in Columbia right now.

    R. Brow

  2. laraitan
    September 11, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    I think this is a great idea. I always wish i had the one day where i can just rest. That would save alot of money and ,maybe help out our recession. We need to come together and find a way to make things work again. Everyone is feeling this recession and wants the world to be the way it was over 10 years ago. I think this would bring up everyone’s morale. South carolina has alot of problem’s and i think it will take them longer to realize what the right decisions will be.

  3. krismj88
    September 11, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I believe that Utah definitely has something in the works with this four day work week and was pleasantly surprised to find out that one of the main reasons was to save energy. I believe that this new work week will be a positive contribution to people’s work-life balance. The work force will gain extra time for leisure activities and family time. However as much as I am for this idea, I would like to know a little more about it. Like for instance, do afterschool programs/baby-sitters work longer hours m-th, how does this effect the family during the week, and has this change effected local businesses or chain stores? Overall I am for this work schedule.

  4. aecym
    September 13, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I agree with the article and follow up commentary.

    I am from the Washington, D.C. area, (live five miles outside of the city) both in my parents work in D.C., and I have worked a few summer internships in the city as well. In order to get to work on time (8 am to 4 pm) we could not leave our house any later than 6 am. You wouldn’t believe the amount of traffic (runs circles around the ‘8:30 am traffic’ on 501) and even the amount of people using the public metro transportation system at that time of the morning. The government should issue some form of work incentive, an example would be a small tax break, for the people who do take on the four day work week instead of the five day. The benefits for everyone really do outweight any costs. If you really stop to think about it…Even if only a third of these D.C. metropolitan commuters were to take on the four day work week, you could not fathom the amount of energy that would be saved from the amount of vehicles taken off of the road, and possibly fewer trips that public transportation would be making. Not to mention the amount of our hard earned (five day work week) tax money that could then be saved to use for something more beneficial for everyone.

    As far as South Carolina getting on board with this plan, I would not hold your breath. I worked at an oceanfront hotel in Myrtle Beach for two years. You wouldn’t believe the amount of unprofessionalism I experiencecd, and the way employers treat their employees. (This is not a one-time occurrence, I’ve found that this is pretty much standard around the beach). When attesting to some of my previous employer’s practices being unethical, if I had a penny for everytime the simulated phrase ‘South Carolina is the right to work state’ was used, I would be pretty well off right now. (So well off, that I would not have to work in this state again.)

    As mentioned before, I worked in the D.C. metropolitan area for summer internships in the past (as my parents have been working with their respective employers for thirty plus years, so I’ve grown up around professionalism and ethics in the business industry.) If a full-time employee is unable and not allowed to get a lunch break for an eight hour work day, there is NO way that South Carolina will even begin to consider something as practical and beneficial to so many people, and our economy as a four day work week.

    A big break in the five day, nine to five work grind is very ‘twenty-first century’ so to speak in major city and metropolitan areas. Keep dreaming if you think South Carolina will ever see a policy this perfect for everyone.

  5. mjmolner
    November 24, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. Having one day less of work would be so much more relaxing and stress free. With another day to spend with family and friends doing my own thing not worrying about work I could enjoy life a lot more. On days I am working I feel like I would get more done and would want to work on the days I have to. Companies can also safe money this way using less power getting even more green then before. If we did this it would change the whole outlook on work and make life more pleasing.

  6. icgreen
    December 1, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Yeah, when is SC going to get on board with this amazing idea!? This is a great idea because it helps single parents when it comes to day care expenses, traveling expenses, and gives them more leisure time, and time to spend with their families after a hard weeks work. Three day weekends are a lot better than two-day because I feel like Saturday’s are the only free day that you have out of a regular weekend to really relax. Because first off, after you get off work on Friday’s that’s when your weekend is supposed to start, but you really don’t have a free day until Saturday. Sunday you have to prepare for work on Monday and dread going back because you feel as if you didn’t get enough rest. I believe people will work more effectively and efficiently knowing that they have shorter work weeks with only two hour hold-over. It saves on everything. GO GREEN

  7. mlhanaga
    December 6, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    I think that having a three day weekend would be a great idea. I agree that when im at work I would rather stay an extra two hours while in the work mode and get a whole day off then work fivve days and get out earlier. I think its going to be very hard to make this a real thing but its definately worth a try.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

