Home > Uncategorized > Sample Post—Good post, 2 points

Sample Post—Good post, 2 points

Employers reading Facebook pages

This is an article that provides information about how often employers screen applicants based on their Facebook pages, and what kinds of things cause employers to pass on otherwise qualified applicants.  I think the author of the article has a good point.  Why is it the employer’s business if an applicant drinks and takes pictures of himself after work?

But, on the other hand, the author of this article doesn’t consider the PR impact.  If I do a good job during the day, but have these crazy pictures floating around, doesn’t that damage the image of my employer, if anyone can Google me and find both my employer and my weekend pictures?  So, in this case, my after-work activities could actually harm my employer’s brand image.  Does that make it legitimate for the employer to choose not to hire me?

[Here, we see a high-quality post.  There’s a link to a relevant article, and some discussion that doesn’t just summarize the article, but steps back from it and comments on it as well.  The discussion here, furthermore, is about whether and why this might be justifiable—it’s not just about practical advice, but it asks about how things ought to be done]

Feel free to comment on this post, if you like!  It’s an issue we’ll talk about again in class in a couple months.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 23, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    What I do outside of work is my own business. But if my actions are inappropriate to begin with then I am subject to the consequences. I don’t agree with an employer firing or lack of hiring on the grounds of my face book or MySpace page. However, if I want to participate in crude behavior, then ill block my page from anyone viewing it other than friends. You don’t have to beat the system all the time… Just work around it!

  2. krismj88
    September 11, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I completely disagree with employers using social networking sites as a way to screen applicants. Even when you know someone personally facebook pages can be very subjective. What one word or post says to one person may not be the same to another person, especially if there is an age difference involved. In life in general, if you but people in different environments or situations their behaviors will change. For example, you would not act the same at a spa as you would at a community swimming pool. The same stays true for the way one acts in a business environment compared to outside of that environement. They are two completely different situations and one does not reflect the other. I dislike facebook being used in the hiring process, however I do believe that the employer should be able to ask you to private your facebook if you are to be hired. Although I just said that the two lives coincide, if hired you now represent that company and you should want to represent them in a respectful way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

